How To Rank your YouTube Video (For Beginners)

Today, I’m stepping a bit out of my comfort zone because, well, I’m not a YouTube expert. However, I am an SEO enthusiast, and I believe that SEO principles can work wonders on YouTube videos too.

Keyword Research for Your Video

Just like with traditional SEO, keyword research is the first step to success. Start by finding keywords that are relevant to your video content. Tools like Google’s Keyword Planner or YouTube’s autocomplete can be your best friends here.

• :ballot_box_with_check: Identify a primary keyword that accurately represents your video’s topic.
  • :ballot_box_with_check: Look for long-tail keywords related to your primary keyword for additional optimization opportunities.

Optimize Video Title, Description, and Tags

Now, let’s apply those keywords strategically:

• Video Title: Craft a compelling title that includes your primary keyword. Keep it engaging and relevant to entice clicks.
  • Description: Write a detailed description that provides context about your video. Include relevant keywords naturally.
  • Tags: Add relevant tags that mirror your chosen keywords. These help YouTube understand your video’s content.

The most important part: Create High-Quality Content :high_brightness:

I may not be a video expert, but I do know that quality matters and without a good video - you probably won’t rank.

Your video should be:

• :ballot_box_with_check: Well-shot and clear.
  • :ballot_box_with_check: Engaging and informative.
  • :ballot_box_with_check: Aligned with the viewer’s search intent.

Create. Good. Videos!

Encourage Viewers

YouTube loves it when viewers engage with your video. Encourage likes, comments, and shares by:

• :ballot_box_with_check: Asking questions and prompting discussions in your video.
  • :ballot_box_with_check: Responding to comments promptly to foster a sense of community.

Video Length and Audience Retention